Skip to content

"Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it." Then he embraced them and blessed them, placing his hands on them. Mark 10: 13-16

What are the seven sacraments?

The sacramental life of Christians is the journey to Emmaus in which the risen Lord is accompanying everyone. The Seven Sacraments are for the different stages of life signifying the accompaniment of the Lord in the life of a Christian. At every stage, the Spirit is given to the believer. The seven sacraments are grouped into three categories:

  1. Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist)
  2. Sacraments of Communion (Holy Orders, Matrimony)
  3. Sacraments of Healing (Sacrament of Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick).

As we listen to the Scriptures with our hearts and share personal faith-filled experiences, we encourage each other to a more profound spiritual pilgrimage, strengthen our faith, and grow into a more intimate relationship with God in Jesus Christ.

Contact Persons:

  • Pastor: Fr. John Melepuram (215) 808-4052.
  • Coordinator: Betty Meenattoor (516) 491-8765.
  • Assistant Coordinator: Jaya Vathappallil (516) 395-0797.
  • Registrar: Boban Thottam (631) 553-6617.
  • Safety Administrator: Joy Myladoor (516) 474-8571.

The mission of the Religious Education Program at the St. Mary's Syro Malabar Parish is to bring Christ to his people and bring his people to the realization that they are the Church. We accomplish this by teaching the love of God and sharing our faith throughout the grades from pre-school through high school. Educating the parents of our children through adult formation classes. Preparing students for their sacraments and continuing formation in their faith knowledge. Being community to each other and promoting a strong parish family support.

Religious Education Teachers

Grade Teachers
K Jisha Mathew Stephanie Toms Anisha Mathew Jaya Cyril
I Sissy Roy Shona Joseph Tressa James
II Reena Alex Rayna Roy Sharon Joseph Roshini Lalson
III Lissy Kochupurackal Jasmine Thanicatt Laicy Mecheril Laly Manchery
IV Sneha Mathew Prince Vathappallil Jerin Thanicatt Jeena Puthussery
V Tessy Joseph Siji Cyriac Dolly Thanicatt Amal Mukalel
VI Shini Xavier Shan Shaji Jasmine Nambiaparambil
VII Glaxy Roy Minu Joseph Kevin George
VIII Minimol Avanapurath Anthony Joseph Priya Thomson
IX Mishu Joseph Dr.Mathew Jose Jewel Joseph Dr. Mercy Joseph
X Dr. Mary Mallappallil Binod Mathew Rayner Varghese
XI Jacob Jojan Dr.Rosy Mathew Martin Jacob Jacob Sabu
XII Dr. Sherry George James Cherian Alvin Joseph